Indonesian vs Korean Barbeque


Sate Ayam

Sate Ayam

Inadvertently I have just become a translator for two Korean girls who seems to have tempted the aroma of “Sate Madura” (Maduranese Chicken/Goat Barbeque) – kiind of famous street food that brought by people from Madura Island (East Java). Probably these girls thought “Wow.. Indonesia Barbeque, must try this! (They look into the display so close, even their nose nearly touch the glass) :))

They Lough out Loud when I explained that the Sate Ayam (Chicken) cost only 13thousand rupiah per portion (Ten sticks) and Sate Kambing (Goat) cost only 16thousand rupiah. They said that Korean Barbeque with Bulxxxx Sauce will cost them around 350thousand rupiah *Ofcourse- different place- different recipe :)) I heard that they even marinated the garlic in a bowl of “sake “first.

While talking with those two girls, I heard people talking in the nearby stall, a “Nasi Kucing” stall (Small portion of rice wrapped in a Banana Leaf with some fishes or “tempe”(kind of food made from soya) together with “sambal” (Indonesian chili sauce). Seems that some of those people came from Japan.

It reminds me of a friend, a “CEO”  of a startup who always reject when I asked him to company me eating this yummy street food – “Sate Ayam“, the reason is he doesn’t want his charisma down because of eating kind of Street Food.

He said that the owner of a Famous Taxi in Jakarta have failed to co-operate with a Famous Automotive Company from Japan just because they found out that he stayed in a cheap hotel when he visited Japan.

Hmm maybe part of it is right. But I’m not agree. I’m also a “CEO” of a stall *Lol eventhough the revenue only one tenth of Microsoft CEO :))) *I really wish. But honestly, I can’t live with double personality. My personality that I brought into business is just the same with my real personality. I don’t care what people think about me.

If one day a famous businessman say, “I’m sorry Eva, I can’t cooperate with you, I just saw you ate “Sate Ayam” near “selokan” (ditch).” I probably will say, “It’s ok then, probably we are not meant to cooperate anyway” plus grumbling to myself “Who the heck are you.. You’re not my god!” :)))

@ReSharyna

*Actually the story will be funnier If I can use three language, English, Bahasa Indonesia, and Bahasa Jakarta.. As I have to tell the story in English, so please make your own funny imagination :))

Leave a Reply

