Ijen Crater and The Phenomenon of The Blue Flame


This is one of the reason of what makes me so excited of doing all of these activities; Blogging, Facebook-ing, Tweeting about the beauty of Indonesia’s nature.. Me, I myself, always often shocked by how many beautiful places that I have never know before, eventhough I live quite near to some of those places. I’ll show why..

Ijen Crater Sulphur Lake

Ijen Crater Sulphur Lake

The spectacular scenery above can be seen from an aircraft from Surabaya to Denpasar, an spectacular views that evokes a question about the location of a green Tosca lake at an altitude of 2.000 feet, and the caldera wall as high as 300-500m. It’s quite amazing, the colour and the smoke, it’s exotic, it’s dangerously beautiful.

As I said in the previous paragraph, you can go there by going to Surabaya in East Java first, and then from there you can directly go to Ijen through the north west entrance. Or you can go to Denpasar first, and from the sea port you can go to Ketapang sea port in Banyuwangi, from there you can direstly go to Ijen through it’s east entrance.

Do you think it’s just like another crater? then you might want to visit the place in the night, then you gonna see this.. the blue flame of Ijen

The Blue Flame of Ijen

The Blue Flame of Ijen

The other may say Blue Fire, but I prefer to say Blue Flame, there are ony two crates in the world that have blue flame, one in Iceland, and one in Indonesia, Mount Ijen, East Java.

The Blue Flame of Ijen Crater

The Blue Flame of Ijen Crater

I was born in Indonesia, and I really love Indonesia. But this not makes me so narrow minded, as I believe that in every part of the world you can find their’s own beauty, either in the culture, nature, food, or even the people it self.

The other part of me, the Dutch, and German blood makes me really want to visit Europe, the land of my ancestors, well who knows?

Source:

1. Ijen Crater Sulphur Lake

2. The Blue Flame of Ijen

3. The Blue Flame of Ijen Crater

4. Location of Ijen

5. How to get there

6. Keajaiban keindahan alam Indonesia

7. Olivier Grunewald

2 comments
  1. check out my blog, for my indonesian photos.

    • Just back to check the site, 🙂
      Thank you Arga for commenting on this blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

